Chanel Levres Scintillantes Glossimer BAGATELLE Review and Swatches

February 23, 2012

Chanel Levres Scintillantes Glossimer has released with three new limited edition shades with the Spring Collection - BAGATELLE, BONBON and PÉTILLANT. Given that I have already had quite a substantial collection of Glossimers, I decided to only purchase BAGATELLE, and passed on the rest as they are too sheer and look very similar to what I already have.


I don’t think I have ever expressed my infatuation with Chanel Glossimer. First of all they have the most aesthetic appeal to me for someone who judges makeup by its look :-P I don’t normally like to wear over-the-top shimmery lip glosses, and although Glossimer can look quite sparkly from the tube, the micro shimmer actually translates to a  soft gleam to the lips (not glittery).  It applies smoothly without the gritty feel, and the consistency is a little on the thick side so it stays put for a much longer time than other lip glosses.

Glossimer varies from sheer to rich. Many that I own are on the sheer side, with no exception to BAGATELLE. It is swatched as a medium pink with gold shimmers on bare skin but shows up as a sheer pale pink on my lips.

chanel-levres-scintillantes-glossimer-bagatelle-swatch-1Lip Swatch of BAGATELLE:


Overall Look:

chanel-levres-scintillantes-glossimer-bagatelle-swatch-fotdWith a sheer Glossimer, I find that it is functions well when it is layered on top of a lipstick, for an added high shine pearly glow effect. I layered BAGATELLE on top of Rouge Coco Shine in Flirt in the pictures below.

chanel-levres-scintillantes-glossimer-bagatelle-with-flirt-swatchchanel-levres-scintillantes-glossimer-bagatelle-with-flirt-swatch-fotdA comparison swatch

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

{ 14 comments… read them below or add one }

Martha February 23, 2012 at 2:43 pm

It looks lovely, especially layered!


Natalie February 23, 2012 at 5:52 pm

Bagatelle is my favorite lipgloss at the moment. I wish it wasn’t a limited edition shade.. I may have to purchase a back-up! It’s just so perfect layered on top of any pink lipstick or worn solo.


Pamela Ridwan at Jadeinthepalace February 23, 2012 at 5:54 pm

OMG everytime I see your fullsize picture,I got stunned! You are so pretty!!
Okay I have to focus on the!
I’m not really a lipgloss person, but this glossimer is pretty! and the fact that they’re chanel is enough I think.;)
good review!
I love your blog <3



Jeslynj February 23, 2012 at 9:46 pm

Yes, the layered look is lovely! I’ll have to do some shopping soon! :)


The Girlie Blogger February 24, 2012 at 2:19 am

Color is so pretty. I am totally wow’d.


Cindy February 24, 2012 at 6:57 am

Reika, you always look gorgeous!! And your reviews are really succinct, i love your blog! :D

I think I am passing on this lip gloss, its weird that I can spend just as much buying one LMdB Lip Creme and Lip Gloss and not want to try Chanel :(



Elizabeth February 24, 2012 at 2:50 pm

As much as I love Glossimers, for me having one is enough – I just find that they all look so similar on the lips (albeit GORGEOUS!! No one does gloss like Chanel!) I have the shade MICA, which is pretty alone or layered over lipstick / liner. It’s pretty much the only product I only have 1 of!


Reika February 29, 2012 at 11:55 am

Agree with you, most of the glossimers I own look very similar on my lips..:-P


Walls February 25, 2012 at 9:28 am

Very pretty — as usual! I like the use of the highlighter colour in the inner corner of the eye. It really pulls the look together.


Petrina February 28, 2012 at 11:32 pm

I love glossimers too but have stopped purchasing recently as I realized some of them look the same on the lips due to sheerness. This looks lovely but I’ll ass until I’ve finish at least one!


Michelle March 4, 2012 at 8:43 am

Hi Reika,
What contact lens are you wearing here? They are a lovely green and looks beautiful on you.


Reika March 4, 2012 at 1:14 pm

They are by Freshkon in green. HIH!


Louise March 26, 2012 at 4:04 am

I love Chanel Glossimers! Petit Peche is my go-to light peach-pink lip gloss :) Unfortunately, I had a bit of an issue with Bagatelle, which I also purchased. I love the color, but I can’t quite get over the texture. On my lips it feels a bit gritty- I think because of the glitter in it. I was wondering if you’ve had the same experience?


jane May 16, 2012 at 2:33 pm

I lovee your reviews of the chanel lip products !!
I was wondering if you have done a review or taken any photos wearing chanel rouge in paradis on?
Also do you know of any websites that sell chanel products and ship internationally? $50 aUD os so expensive (what they charge in australia anyway)


Leave a Comment

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: