Becca Radiance Primer Review

July 13, 2011

I bought Becca Radiance Primer not long ago and it has quickly become my all time favorite radiance and illuminating primer. At the time I was purchasing I had a choice between the most raved Shimmering Perfector and the Radiance Primer which is a new product from Becca. As usual I like to go against the crowd…and took this baby home. I am so glad I did because it has surpassed my expectations.

becca-radiance-primerWhat is it:

- It is an age defying illuminating primer that instantly diminishes signs of dull, uneven complexion with a luminous, dewy finish.

- It has a water based formulation that hydrates and boosts the vitality of the skin.

- Can be used underneath foundation or on its own. Suitable for all skin types.

- Made in Italy

- Paraben Free, Fragrance Free and Alcohol Free.

This primer has a subtle gold tinge to it. When you squeeze the product out, you can see tiny particles of gold shimmer.



What I love about it the most:

- Many primers are ivory or pink based, sometimes they can make my face look too white and oily in the photos . This primer blends into my skin seamlessly – I cannot detect that there is a layer of highlighter or shimmer on my face. It gives a nice glow-from-within effect.

- There really is no rule for applying makeup. Rather than using it underneath my foundation, I like to mix this product in with my foundation to achieve an all over radiant effect. The hydrating formulation also makes my foundation adhere to my skin even better.

- My favorite use of this product is that I like to apply, or more specifically pat this product into my skin on top of my foundation. It takes away the cakiness and thickness of foundation – instantly makes my skin look more lifted and gives a moist and dewy glow. In a way it reminds me of the Clarins Beauty balm but much better. I have no luck with the Clarins as it flakes on me horribly.

More pictures!

Slightly blended out


Applied Becca Radiance Primer on top of the foundation along my cheekbone. Again the effect is hard to capture by the camera – it always looks better in real life.



Becca Radiance Primer retails for $55 in Australia.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

{ 17 comments… read them below or add one }

Sue July 13, 2011 at 4:14 pm

I use their Rejuvenating Primer and like it a lot. I plan on trying a different one for the fall that is less mattifying and more dewy. Thanks for the review!


Reika July 14, 2011 at 1:09 pm

Hi Sue, I can tell that you are certainly a big fan of Becca! I am truly impressed with this one, it makes my makeup stay looking fresh all day! I did sample the rejuvenating primer at the counter, it felt quite silicony if i remembered it correctly..? Would give it a try when summer comes :-)


Jen July 14, 2011 at 8:48 pm

As always, you look extremely radiant. Becca has the most sophisticated makeup products and this primer is no different :) Great review!


Reika July 17, 2011 at 7:04 am

Thanks for your lovely comment Jen :-)


Koala July 14, 2011 at 9:29 pm

This is exactly the product I was looking for (couldn’t find one one that would be subtle enough and fragrance-free and alcohol-free). Thanks!


Reika July 17, 2011 at 7:05 am

Glad you find it helpful :-) It is really one of the best I have ever tried!


Jennise July 14, 2011 at 9:50 pm

I’ve been curious about this product for a while, thank you for such a great review. I should really check out the Becca range, you’ve turned me into a fan!


Reika July 17, 2011 at 7:09 am

Thanks Jennise ;-) Becca really does Australia proud, we should support Australian brands more!


Cindy July 16, 2011 at 3:05 am

You are so pretty!! :D


Reika July 17, 2011 at 7:12 am

Thanks Cindy! You are too sweet :-)


Petrina July 17, 2011 at 11:01 pm

This looks great on you :) I use Chanel Whitening Effect Modelling base which works like this one and also contains an SPF. If u do come across it give it a go (the last I know it wasn’t available in au yet – I got mine on a trip earlier this yr)


Reika July 18, 2011 at 1:52 pm

Thanks for the recommendation Petrina :-) I certainly will as I have heard so many good things about it!


Nadia August 25, 2011 at 6:36 pm

Is that Made in italy?? Can’t believe it, Becca is an holy grail that can’t be found anywhere in Italy! I managed to find a small corner in Como (lake of Como) but was so disappointed when I found out that they didn’t have anything of what I was looking for! :( they should sell Becca here too!!!!


Reika August 25, 2011 at 11:48 pm

Hello Nadia, sorry to hear that. Just letting you know that you can order Becca from an UK based online shopping site They offer free international shipping and the price is even cheaper than Australia.


Nadia August 26, 2011 at 9:25 am

Thanks Reims for the info! Cheers


Lia December 6, 2011 at 3:20 am

I am so keen on this primer since reading your review on it :)
One quick question, which one would you prefer, this Becca primer or the Chanel primer? I have read a lot of positive reviews on both & I just want a subtle glow to my skin & I am worried about it drying out my skin…


Reika December 7, 2011 at 12:39 pm

Hi Lia, it depends. Chanel’s primer is more glowing than Becca if it’s used alone. But if you are going to apply foundation over it, the effects are very similar between the two.


Leave a Comment

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: